Paige Tobin (Corn)

Hometown: Battle Creek, MI
Majors: Critical Ethnic Studies, Anthropology & Sociology
Study Abroad: Oaxaca, Mexico
Best Adjective to Describe You: Crunchy

In 20 words or less, what is the best thing about being part of this department?
The best thing about the CES department is that it is a place where people from disciplines from all over the College can come together and commune. The CES major truly embraces the goals of interdisciplinary education at Kalamazoo College.

What is your advice to first years and sophomores about getting connected to this department?
My biggest piece of advice for students who want to get connected to the major is to come to our events, take a class, sit down with myself, the other DSAs or departmental faculty to get a feel for what we do. l recommend approaching all of these things with an open heart and mind to truly find value in the experience.

What is the most valuable thing you’ve learned at K?
The most valuable thing I have learned at K is to be OK with the unknowns in life. Life is messy, contradictory and weird, and we need to know how to run with it and be OK in the end.

What has been your favorite class at K? Why?
My favorite class at K was Dr. Gomez’s Insurgency and Solidarity. I found my voice there and built a community with the CES major. One of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

How have you taken advantage of the open curriculum or experienced breadth in your education?
Through engaging with the CES major, I have been able to participate in classes held by a variety of departments like Religion, English, ANSO, and many more. It is here more than anywhere else that I have found my education has transcended the departmental borders of K College.

What experiential education opportunities have you participated in?
My ICRP allowed me to work with an organization called Museos Comunitarios. I am on the SABSA board, Student Council, Frisbee team Captain (1/3), the Writing Center, and the Arcus Center Advisory Board

What is your SIP?
My SIP is called “The New Museology: Indigenous Appropriation and Decolonial Possibilities”. In this SIP I aim to understand how the museum is used by indigenous communities for the purpose of decolonization. I will be looking at issues of materiality, and storytelling as well. I will be going back to my study abroad site to collaborate with a community for my research.

What are your career aspirations/next steps after K?
My current aspirations are to take a gap year after K in order to find out if my path is on to grad school or elsewhere. I also hope to catch up on reading and continue learning after I leave the College.

Return to Previous DSAs page